The Top 6 Songs From George Ezra That Scream Swoon City in the Middle of Texas Perfect for Drinking A Glass of Good Ole’ Ice Tea



As my all time favorite singer/songwriter/musician in the entire world, George Ezra, never fails to astonish me with the tracks he comes out with. His phenotype and his voice bring a refreshing and slightly startling contrast to what you would expect. whether you saw a gif on Tumblr and expected a high-pitched indiealternativequifflad or heard his track Budapest riding the radio waves expecting a middle-aged 1960’s Johnny Cash  type of fella. In this post, I really wanted to highlight my top 6 favorite George Ezra originals of all time from his most recent album Wanted On A Voyage. Sit back, Relax and Enjoy.


1. Budapest

Why It’s Awesome:  As Ezra’s biggest hit of 2014/2015 it gives the world an amazing preview to his voice and proficient songwriting. The amazing guitar work wraps you in and takes you for the ride. Over the nearly incomprehensible lyrics due to his folk-y voice, it doesn’t take away the value of the music. As his biggest hit, the popular attraction to Budapest proves to be true in all of its 3 minutes and 38 seconds of bliss.

Favorite Quote:

“Give me one good reason
Why I should never make a change
And baby if you hold me
Then all of this will go away”

In this stanza, Ezra is rhetorically asking as for why he shouldn’t change, as for why he shouldn’t go explore the things and get the girl he missed out on  in Budapest/Life. Once he gets to what he was missing out on, then all of his wanderlust and the longing will disappear.

Best Time To Listen to It:

Coming home after a long trip

Eating cereal

2. Leaving It Up To You

Why It’s Awesome:

My favorite thing about this song is that it isn’t too up-tempo, but also not a ballad. It’s just the right hybrid in between. The back vocal give me chills every time, with an irresistible sing-along.  I think my love for this song really came into effect, after watching a live version that he did solo. Due to there being a choir in the chorus that repeats the title of the song, Ezra had to improvise. He played his guitar the way he always plays it (lovely) and reached for the near falsetto of the fast paced repetition in the chorus of “leaving it up, leaving it up, leaving it up , leaving it up to you”. gnarly diaphragm man!

Favorite Quote:

“And I’ve been told your new playmate’s successful
And he’s handsome and he’s charming
It’s a damn good job he isn’t here
Or I may have wind up harming your darling”

In this portion of Ezra’s lyrics, he is basically suggesting that her (the chick he’s into) boyfriend is lucky he’s not in Geoffs presence. Because if they were face to face Geoff would give him a good ole’ Manny Pacquiao. Hilarious.

Best Time To Listen to It:

Cool down stretching after a workout

On a drive home from school after taking a state standardized test

3. Cassy O’

Why It’s Awesome:

This song is incredible. I don’t think any amount of words can really describe how AMAZING this song is. I could listen to this every minute for the rest of my life and NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER get sick of it. The super up tempo of the track just makes you want to do an overzealous side to side sway. As always the chorus never disappoints, irresistible to sing aloud. Just a real masterpiece of music, perfect for picking up the mood and fitting for everyone to break a smile and throw in a little clapp-age. Totally deserves the hierarchy on this list.

Favorite Quote:

Cassy O’
Cassy O’
Please don’t leave
Cassy O’
Cassy O’
Please don’t leave

Perfect for great pub chants and air punching.

Best Time To Listen to It:

A nice sunset bike ride

Cooking penne pasta

4. Listen To The Man

Why It’s Awesome:

Not only is Ezra and Sir Ian McKellen riffing hilarious, but the excellent use of tambourine, guitar, and the subtle hints of  a triangle is just fabulous. No complaint, no valleys, no negatives in this song. You can’t help but smile when listening to this. Keeping with the theme of irresistible gesticulations, on can not simply resist the toe tapping haha.

Favorite Quote:

“You don’t need a plan, of what you want to do”

I despise any responsibility ever, and any planning ahead that is over like 3 seconds. So I can relate (lol).

Best Time To Listen to It:

The end of any year of high school

cutting up a pineapple

5. Blame It On Me

Why It’s Awesome:

We reached the point in the list of where I am becoming repetitive with the disgusting amount of “amazing” and “fantastic” synonyms I can type out. Ezra’s tracks are all synonyms of each other, not in the way that he is redundant but in the attitude the listeners will have towards them. At least, what I have towards his music. Blame It On Me starts out strong with acoustics, and his voice is so eloquently elevated. You can feel the passion int he words he has written even if you can’t audit most of them. 😉

Favorite Quote:

When I dance alone, and the Suns’s bleeding down,
Blame it on me

George expressing his initiatives

Best Time To Listen to It:

6.Benjamin Twine

Why It’s Awesome:

Even though this song is #6, it is definitely one of my favorite songs of all time from any artist ever. Another song with incredible strong acoustics and the blessings that Geoffs 1878 Midwest-esque voice brings us.

Favorite Quote:

And oh by God she knows she’s worth it
Any boy would tell you so
Well a girl like that is worth her own weight in gold

Easily my favorite lyrics from not only Wanted on Voyage but, pretty much any song ever.  The “worth her own weight in gold” really give the audience a sight into Georges soft side. Making the materialistic value of gold and translating that into a girl’s worth, strategically manages to stray from superficial.  Also, Ezra’s refreshingly soul full infliction of “And oh by God” just hits you straight in the feels. Stellar tune!

Best Time To Listen to It:

If you are ever feeling down about yourself and need a bit of a pick me up.

at your local bank

7. I Try (Bonus/Cover)

Why It’s Awesome:

I first saw this video in my subscription box on Youtube, and I trust BBC Radio One Live performances, they have always produced great content with great artists. So of course, I am here for anything and every Ezra. Unexpected of anything in addition to no prior knowledge of the original song’s existence, by the end of the cover my jaw was on the floor. Ezra sprinkled his folk magic on the record, bringing in a church choir conclusion vibe to it. Gray’s original version is of course great, however George has eradicated any possibility of me listening to her version ever again. This rendition brings me pure joy, in the rare sense that a cover completely ruins the original for me. Endless replays!

Favorite Quote:

“I try to say goodbye and I choke / I try to walk away and I stumble”

The chorus is incredibly soulful and catchy to the point of which, when the second chorus comes around you can already MariahCareyIt the heck out of it. This quote also exemplifies my incoordination and unwillingness to let go of people and situations that are dear to me, just like everyone else.

Best Time To Listen to It:

On a nice morning drive

If you are feeling some major girl power


tumblr_nhq2tcsstY1ru31xyo5_250

I really Hope you enjoyed this list of my top 6 George Ezra originals plus a cheeky bonus cover ;). He still stands as my all time favorite artist with an incredibly skilled and soulful folk voice that touches the heart of anyone who is fortunate to come across his music. His journey in the music industry has just begun at the age of 21!. Great album, great voice, great instrumentals Ezra. Keep doing what you’re doing! ❤

